The ancient hillside village of Cesseras takes its name from the Cesse River which formed the stunning gorges directly behind the village.
The first written mention of Cesseras itself was in 844 AD when Charles the Bald, grandson of Charlamagne, gifted the village to a faithful follower named Hilderic making him the first Lord of Cesseras.
Centuries later, this small lordship was absorbed into the reign of the powerful and noble Trencavel family, Lords of Carcassone.
Meanwhile through generation upon generation of various owners, the humble group of small houses mentioned earlier slowly consolidated into a single – but still relatively modest – house near the foot of the ramparts of the Trencavels’ medieval Château Cesseras and near the village’s Gothic Church of St. Germaine (still sanctified and wonderfully maintained).
During the Crusades against the Cathars, the Trencavels were stripped of their lordship, imprisoned as heretics and had all their lands confiscated.
In 1255, however, Saint Louis (King Louis IX) partially reinstated Raymond Trencavel by giving him the lordship of Cesseras in recognition of his brave service in the Seventh Crusade to the Holy Land. Thus, this small village became the last refuge of the family’s Occitan reign which had previously encompassed the entire Lower Languedoc.
In the middle of the 15th century the Lordship of Cesseras was purchased by Noble Bertrand de Corsier for 1,400 pounds of gold and several generations later was passed yet again to the Baron of Fabrezan, Charles Seigneuret, upon his marriage in 1657 to the last surviving member of the Corsier clan. The title of Baron of Cesseras was carried by male descendants of the Seigneuret family clear up until 1792 when the French Revolution resulted in all the family’s possessions being confiscated and sold at auction.